A Philippine Quick Travel Guide

A Philippine Quick Travel Guide

The Philippines is an archipelago compromising of 7,107 islands and is a Southeast Asian country in the Western Pacific. Manila is the capital city of the Philippines and is popular for its waterfront promenade and centuries-old Chinatown in Binondo.


The Philippine Geographical Division

The Philippine Islands are divided into three (3) geographical divisions namely: (1) Luzon, (2) Visayas, and (3) Mindanao.

Luzon is at the northern end of the Philippines, and is the country’s largest with an area of 104,688 km² and the most populous island. It’s known for its bountiful mountains, pristine and crystal beaches and wide-range coral reefs, and is home to the capital city Manila. Luzon is set on a deep bay with famous sunsets, the city has also many Spanish-colonial landmarks. It also has the national memorials, and monuments for Philippine heroes, a century-old Chinatown and a diverse variety of museums.
Visayas has an area of 71,503 km² and one of the Philippines’ major geographical island groups. The Visayan region is rich in Spanish colonial architecture that includes the triangular Fort San Pedro and the Basilica del Santo Niño. The Chocolate Hills in the Bohol Island are a group of more than 1,000 conical, grass-covered mounds that turn chocolate-brown in the dry season. In Corella in part of Bohol is found a rare bug-eyed primates called tarsiers which are protected at the Philippine Tarsier Sanctuary.
Mindanao has an area of 97,530 km² and is the home of its capital city, Davao which is popular for its Philippine Eagle Centre and the Davao Crocodile Park that showcases local wildlife. The island is also famous for its Durian- a spiky, smelly fruit which is also the origin name of the the Durian Dome. The People’s Park also exhibits statues of indigenous people. In the Southwest part, stands the country’s highest point — the Mount Apo which is popular for its volcano trails and a lake.

The Philippine Regions

The Philippines consists of a total of 18 regions distributed among the three geographical divisions of the country. The most recent region, the Negros Island Region, was created by virtue of Executive Order (E.O.) No. 183 issued by President Benigno Aquino III last May 29, 2015 which leads to the unification of the Negros Occidental and Oriental separating them from two previous regions.

The existence of the Philippine Regions can be traced back on September 24, 1972 when they were organized into eleven (11) regions through a Presidential Decree № 1 as part of the Integrated Reorganization Plan of President Ferdinand Marcos.

The Filipino Language

Though there is a great similarities between the Tagalog dialect and the Filipino language, the two are completely different. Tagalog is a dialect spoken in Metro Manila and some parts of northern Philippines while Filipino is the official language of the Philippines compromising the major use of the Tagalog dialect and some Visayan language – Hiligaynon and Bisaya.

The Tagalog language is taught in all school levels in the country while English is the most used language especially in tertiary level. Each province has its own distinctive language depending on its geographical location but the mostly used dialects are Tagalog in Luzon and Bisaya or Hiligaynon in the Visayas and Mindanao.

The Filipino People

The Filipino (plural Filipinos) are the people of Philippines. They are characterized by fair complexion and black hair. The variations are Filipino (Pilipino) for men and Filipinas (Pilipina) for women. In contraction, the Filipino people can be called Pinoy for male and Pinay for female.

In Philippine language, Filipino is a language and Pilipino is the race but in English, the word Filipino may refer to both the language and the race. Variations of Filipino races around the Philippines also depends on its tribal affiliation which means just like the dialects, the Filipino race can be classified and are different depending on the geographical location.

For instance, the people from Cebu are called Cebuanos and the people of the Manila are called the Tagalogs.

The Philippine Peso

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *